Friday, Jan 29


1.) Me, Myself & I worksheet and share

2.) Who is Mr Sitar homework assignment

3.) Course Outline

Monday, Feb 1


1.) Who is Mr Sitar mind map

2.) Students' personal mind map - good copy in first page of notebook

3.) Guns, Germs & Steel video

- Use Video sheet - timeline of human evolution & answer to Yali's question

Tues, Feb 2


1.) Finish Guns, Germs & Steel video
- concluding question

2.) Pop Quiz - Europe Map

3.) Canadian Geography Assignment

Wedn, Feb 3


1.) Canadian Geography Assignment - worktime

2.) Angle, Minnesota Article - border issues Canada vs USA

3.) Before the World Began - video with worksheet
- Canada's First Nations


Thursday, Feb 4


1.) Library - The Traveler's IQ Challenge - geography game

2.) Europe Map - pop quiz

3.) Before the World Began - finish the section


Fri, Feb 5


1.) NA First Nations Cultural and Language groups Maps

2.) Chapter 1 Outline

3.) Chapter 1 Vocab list - due Feb 17th


Tuesday, Feb 9


1.) Creation Myths

2.) Who were the First Nations of Eastern North America?
Textbook questions - p.11 #1-3

3.) European Exploration of NA - notes

- See Notes page

4.) North America Map assignment


Wedn, Feb 10


1.) Worktime:

2.) Arrival in Canada - Powerpoint (in notes page)

3.) Continent of Nations - video (Canada: A People's History)


Thurs, Feb 11


1.) Worktime

2.) Arrival in Canada - powerpoint notes

3.) Videos


Friday, Feb 12


Work Block:

- All past work
- NA map due today
- p. 24 #1-3


Mon, Feb 15


1.) Arrival in Canada notes - New France, Mercantilism & Government Structure

2.) People of New France Chart - Talon, Frontenac & Laval

3.) Reminders:

- Chapter 1 Quiz on Thursday (open book)


Tues, Feb 16


1.) Exploration Age - Explorer Cards Project
- in the library



In addition, students must hand in a paragraph about each explorer answering the following question:

- Why should the explorer be remembered? (What is their legacy or contribution to exploration?)

Projects are due on Monday, February 22


Wedn, Feb 17


- Explorer Cards Project worktime in the library


Thurs, Feb 18


Grade 9 Games Day in the gym

Reminder - On Monday:
Chapter 1 Quiz - Open book


Monday, Feb 22


Chapter 1 Quiz - Open Book

When finished:
- Complete overdue work (Chapter 1 vocab, Maps, Explorer Cards project)
- Chapter 2 Outline
- Chapter 2 Vocab


Tues, Feb 23


1.) Mark Chap 1 quizes

2.) The First Colonial War video - Enlgish/French chart in notebook

3.) Chapter 2 notes - part 1 and 2


Wedn, Feb 24


1.) Pink Shirt Day
It Gets Better video:


2.) Finish notes from yesterday
- part 2

3.) Big Sugar video (in video page)
- Documentary on Slavery in Haiti - past and present


Thurs, Feb 25


1.) Finish Big Sugar

2.) Worktime:

- Complete overdue work
- Chapter 2 Vocab - Due next Wednesday


Fri, Feb 26


1.) D.IY. Notes for Part 3 - in your notebooks (Cornell-Style)

- see the part 3 powerpoint


Mon, Feb 29


1.) Video - C:APH - Episode #4 - Intro & The Governor and the General (in video page)
- worksheets with questions

2.) Seven Years War Timeline - Due Wednesday
- use part 4 and 5 of Chapter 2
- rough copy in notebook
- good copy on paper provided

3.) Reminders:

- Chapter 2 Quiz on Wednesday


Tues, Mar 1


1.) Work Block:
- Seven Years War timeline
- Chap 2 vocab
- overdue work


Wedn, Mar 2


1.) Chapter 2 Quiz

2.) Work time

3.) Chap 3 Outline


Thurs, Mar 3


1.) Chap 2 Quiz Reflections:

- How did you do? Are you happy? Why or why not?
- How did you prepare? Did it work?
- What could you do differently next time?

2.) Chap 2 Quiz Corrections - in notebook

- Short Answers #2 - watch Big Sugar Doc from 2:45 to 9:24


Fri, March 4


1.) Chapter 3 - part 1 - How does place shape a people's identity?
- First Nations chart - use paper provided
Peoples of the Coast, Plateau, and Plains


Monday, March 7


1.) Chapter 3 Notes - The Hudson Bay Company (see the notes page)

2.) Worktime: - Chapter 3 Vocab

3.) Reminder:
- No Chapter 3 Quiz
- Chap 1-3 Midterm on Friday - arrive at Lunchtime if you want more time to write


Friday, March 11, 2014


Midterm Exam #1


Tuesday, March 29


Motivation & Volition Lesson
1.) The Happiness Advantage - Shawn Achor TED Talk
- Happiness & Success

2.) Motivation & Volition Powerpoint
- How to help students succeed

3.) Grit Test
- How Gritty are you?

4.) Studying - Multitasking vs Task Switching
- Are We Digital Dummies? - CBC video

Wednesday, March 30


Chapter 4 - English Civil War
1.) Tour of England - Pilot Guides (see video page)
- Use the map provided to record the cities visited on the video
- Take notes in your notebook about what was seen in each city
- Why 2 cities would you like to visit and why?

2.) Geography Map of England

Thursday, March 31


1.) Worktime - Geog Map of England & Chapter 4 Vocab

2.) Geography of Great Britain & 17th Century Society notes
(see notes page)

Friday, April 1


1.) Worst Jobs of the Stuart Era (see video page)


Tues, April 5


1.) Work Time:
- Chapter 3 Vocab - long overdue
- Chapter 4 Vocab - due Friday

2.) English Civil War notes (see notes page)
- slides 1-15


Friday, April 8


Chapter 4 Quiz


Monday, April 11


1.) Worktime:
- Catch up on overdue work

2.) Canada & the 13 Colonies Maps
- Canada in 1791
- 13 British Colonies (America)


Tues, April 12


1.) Worktime:
- overdue work

2.) Causes of the American Revolution
- Jigsaw group activity
- Big Mindmap to hand in on Thursday


Wedn, April 13


1.) Continue with Causes of the Amer. Rev. activity
- mindmap

2.) Criteria Sheet for tomorrow's project
- see handout
- American Revolution Biography & pamphlet


Thurs, April 14


Worktime:

- Biography & pamphlet
- use computers, phones, or iPads (from library)


Friday, April 15


Project worktime


Monday, April 18

Project worktime


Tues, April 19


Project worktime


Wednesday, April 20


- Tom Sly (UVic student/teacher) takes over the class for the next 5 weeks